Do you name your cars?

 

Cars

A random image of cars (not ours!)

Until I got married, I didn’t name the automobiles I drove. They usually were referred to by the type of car they were: “Chevy,” “Jeep,” “Ford,” etc.

My husband, however, usually names his cars. There was “Lisa,” then “Adiza.” It always tickled me on those days when “Lisa,” a beat-up Honda Civic that was on its last legs, was said to be “not behaving very well.”

“Why do you always call your cars female names?” I asked him one day.

“Because cars are always female,” he answered.

“How do you know they’re always female?” I sputtered. “Why don’t you name a car a strong male name, like George?”

Somehow after that, the name stuck and we started calling the car I drove George. He said it could be a short form for Georgiana.

Do you name your cars? 🙂 If so, what are your favorite names?

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Communicating/Relating techniques, Ways of life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

