Making the “ask” across cultures

I’ve heard about “making the ask” in marketing circles. In every marketing campaign, there comes a point when people are requested to buy a product, subscribe, act, etc. – and it’s called “making the ask.”making the ask

That got me thinking about my own cultural background. I have never seen my mother (who is Asian) ask any favors of anybody outside the family.

She made it seem shameful even to think of such a thing! (I could sooner imagine my mother as a hula-hoop dancer than as a Tupperware sales rep or Avon consultant.)

Many of my friends here in the U.S., however, have no qualms about asking for things or favors. “Could you take me to the store?” “Will you come to this charity event? It’ll be great fun!” “Try some of these candles – they’re so pretty! Shall I get some for you? I get discounts when I buy in bulk … ”

What’s your family like – do you just come out and ask for help when you need it? Or are you like me … probably influenced, no doubt, by my upbringing … and hedge, beat around the bush, or try desperately to resolve the issue yourself?

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Communicating/Relating techniques, Faith/Values, Ways of life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

