Praying for babies

So I got a subtle (OK, not-so-subtle) reminder from my mother-in-law today about babies.

In the country where my husband is from, people often wonder what’s wrong if the married couple hasn’t ushered forth new progeny within a year of the wedding.

As it so happens, we missed that deadline.

Now these extended relatives are beginning to badger my mother-in-law about us on a regular basis.

“I’m ready to be a grandma!” she told us on the phone. “I have been very quiet about it until now. I know you’re waiting, but I won’t be sorry to be a grandma.”

She tells these relatives that we are waiting to have children, but many of them don’t understand why, she reports.

“They are praying for you to have a baby!” she said. “And I tell them, ‘No need to pray. It will happen when they’re ready.’ But they tell me they are praying for you. I can’t see them now without them going into prayer mode.”

Now I come from a more child-cautious cultural background that can see people easily waiting two years or longer before starting a family.

So I have a question for you, dear reader (apart from: Have you seen people going into prayer mode?).

What is your ideal time schedule for having a baby (assuming you don’t already have one or more)?

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Communicating/Relating techniques, Family matters, Ways of life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

