Happy Mother’s Day in advance!

Well, in some parts of the world it’s already May 8, so I’m just going to say Happy Mother’s Day and be done with it! (Even though May 8 is the U.S. “Mother’s Day” holiday, hmm … )

I remember how surprised I was when my husband said that when he was growing up in school, he and the other little boys would go around wishing little girls (who were definitely not mothers yet!) a happy Mother’s Day.

This freaked me out just a little, so I asked why they would do such a thing.

“Well, they’re going to be mothers one day!” he pointed out (fairly logically, I suppose).

The more I thought about it, the more I could see the sense behind it. I mean, barring infertility and other factors, the majority of women do go on to have children. I expect that’s even more true in developing countries than it is in the Western world.

What do you think, gentle reader? Do you think it’s a little premature to wish women who are unwed and un-mothered (if such a word exists) a happy Mother’s Day? Or do you see it more as an invitation for girls to accept that this will probably be a big part of their future lives?

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Communicating/Relating techniques, Faith/Values, Ways of life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

