Squeezing an elephant into a stocking

There are times when I realize afresh the impossibility of capturing all my thoughts into the English language … like trying to squeeze an elephant into a stocking.

Multicultural marriage has its struggles. Misunderstandings arise. Feelings get hurt. Communication breakdowns occur.

Yet with all that, the times of unity and togetherness, of two cultures becoming one, the aha moments when you understand each other and work together for your mutual good … those times are unspeakably glorious. And that is hard to put into words.

We are reduced to metaphors to explain the unexplainable.

I can almost imagine the joyous exasperation of Jesus Christ when he says, “How can I explain/what shall I liken the kingdom of God to?” And he turns to mustard seeds, buried treasures, banquet tables, etc.

Each time, I’m sure he was thinking, “Oh, you have no idea. You can’t begin to comprehend how good it’s going to be. I can only give you a picture.”

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Faith/Values, Ways of life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

