Celebrating Father’s Day across cultures

Happy Father’s Day, everyone, in whatever way you celebrate it!

I say this because I have recently noted how differently we mark Father’s Day around the world. We even have different dates, depending on the country.

When I first got married, I assumed we’d have to send a greeting card overseas to my father-in-law, just because I’ve grown up buying cards for my dad.

My husband, however, was incredulous at the idea. “Do you know how long it would take for a card to get there?” he asked.

(Apparently, it once took six months after his birthday for a card from his mother to arrive, even though she’d mailed it on time. And even then, it had been slit open and then taped shut!)

We assume that other countries have similar times and waiting periods to the U.S. Postal Service. That, unfortunately, is not the case. The postal system abroad can take months to process shipments or they get lost – particularly if they have money or valuables enclosed. 😉

Since my husband comes from a very oral culture, though, it is imperative that we call his parents regularly – on birthdays, holidays, Father’s Day, etc. – just so we can hear their voice. So buy a phone plan with lots of minutes!

How about you? What does Father’s Day look like in your household?

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Faith/Values, Ways of life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

