A Skype wedding

Image representing Skype as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

One of my friends has a distant relative who married someone from Austria. She said at the wedding ceremony, the happy couple set up a computer and Skype video stream so that the bride’s family in Austria could watch (the wedding was in the U.S.).

That got me thinking. What will happen when marriages involving two or more countries become more common and families are all over the world wanting to get a piece of the action? Shall we even need to travel anymore? Just some thoughts …

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Communicating/Relating techniques, Overseas travel, Ways of life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Skype wedding

  1. Hi! I found your blog through Twitter–after searching for “multicultural.” I recently became involved with a new ezine at multiculturalfamilia.com and one of my fellow contributors started a service that reminds me of your post! Mari and her husband are a multicultural family who have lived in 5 different countries so far. They wanted to keep in touch with family, but couldn’t find a safe/good way to do it on the ‘net. So they started Familyclick.com. It’s a free service that allows you to create private chat/video sessions for your family. Seems a lot like the Skype marriage you describe! I guess no one does have to travel anymore…

    • Hi Jen! Thanks for your comment. I just looked at Familyclick.com, and it looks great! Very interesting. What’s your work at multiculturalfamilia.com?

      • Oops–I forgot to subscribe to the comments and just got back here to notice your reply!
        I am one of many contributors to MF. Here is a link to all of my posts there http://www.multiculturalfamilia.com/author/jenmardunc/. I

        I am a new follower of your blog and would love it if you would participate in a blogging game-Game of 7–where you link to some of your older posts. Details about the game are on my own personal blog http://jenmardunc.blogspot.com. If you choose to play, it would help me read some of your older posts and maybe introduce me to some of the blogs you like to follow!

        • Thanks, Jen! Wow – sorry I haven’t been in touch – this week has been very busy. I’m actually not very comfortable yet with blogging (you may have noticed my haphazard posting schedule!) and I don’t know other bloggers out there … is it OK if I link back to your post, but wait on tagging 7 other bloggers until I actually know more out there? 🙂

          • That would be fine! I like your blog and hope you get some more traffic as a result of this little game 🙂 You should also check out multiculturalfamilia.com I am a contributor there and they are looking for more people to write posts or guest pieces. Chantilly, the site’s founder, is also publishing spotlights of blogs that focus on multicultural/multiracial issues. There is a great community of people there who have helped me get more into blogging–I just started in January and have learned a lot since joining them.

            • Just realized I already said most of that in a previous reply… sorry about being redundant. The group of bloggers at MF is very supportive, though. Before meeting them I wasn’t very comfortable with blogging AND I felt alone in my thoughts about my mixed race marriage and multiracial family. That site has opened up a whole new world to me–one that I like to share with other people who seem to share some of the same life circumstances 🙂

Leave a Reply

