An interracial, multicultural God? Absolutely!

Bruce Marchiano as Jesus in the movie, "The Gospel according to Matthew"

Bruce Marchiano as Jesus in the film, "The Gospel according to Matthew."

Recently I heard a Chinese foreign exchange student explain how she had come to faith in Christianity.

“Before I became Christian, I always thought of Jesus as the white man’s God,” she said. “You know, blue eyes, blonde hair … I never thought of him as a God for Chinese people.”

Wherever did we get this idea of Jesus? He probably looked extremely Jewish, with dark hair and eyes.

I especially liked Bruce Marchiano’s portrayal of Jesus in the 1994 film, “The Gospel According to Matthew.” He’s joyful and exuberant, someone for whom you could consider leaving all and following him (unlike the somber, languid depictions in other unnamed Gospel films).

This, to me, is one of the beauties of the Christian faith – it’s for everyone. In Heaven, we are told, people congregate from every tribe, language, people and nation (Rev. 5:9). The kings of the earth and the nations all bring their splendor into the New Jerusalem (Rev. 21:22-26).

God, apparently, likes diversity.

I recently had the privilege of hearing John Piper’s sermon on “Racial Harmony and Interracial Marriage.” I had long been thinking, I want to write a blog post about the theological implications of interracial marriage. Lo and behold, he beat me to it! And I’m very glad he did. Saves me a lot of trouble … 🙂

I would just add that along with God approving interracial marriage, which I think the sermon outlines beautifully, we should also consider that God’s human lineage is interracial.

Ruth, one of Jesus’ ancestors, was a Moabite widow. If you’re interested in learning more about Moab and the somewhat troubled relationship the Moabites had with Israel, I recommend this NLT study Bible blog post.

I remember when a wise Bible study teacher asked a group of us as teenagers, “Do you think God only speaks English?!” We all blinked in surprise. Of course not! His native tongue is Hebrew … 😛

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Faith/Values and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

