Pink isn’t always a girl color

My husband likes the color pink. And it looks very dashing on him too, I might add – a light pink-patterned shirt is one of the best items in his wardrobe.

Which got me thinking: Why is pink traditionally a girl color in the U.S.? Why is blue traditionally for boys?

I’ll never forget the day I saw an early movie from my husband’s home country. The main character, a man, is dressing up for a social outing in one scene.

The camera waits patiently as he picks out a bright pink shirt and robe, then walks out the door.

The costume is treated so nonchalantly that I gaped. “He’s putting on pink!” I cried.

“What’s wrong with that?” my husband (then my fiance) returned.

“Um … it’s not exactly something you see on guys every day…”

Now I smile when I hear parents-to-be worrying about whether they should paint baby rooms pink, blue or a “neutral” color. Never mind that many babies born overseas don’t even get their own rooms, so the idea of painting is moot.

But more importantly, colors and their cultural consequences vary from race to race. For example, white can be a bad color in Asian cultures (symbol of mourning).

Have you had a similar experience?

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Faith/Values, Ways of life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

