Similarities between my sister and husband

My sister and I are very close. We used to quarrel and bicker all the time when growing up, and then came a magic day (I forget when) in our childhoods where we realized that we actually were friends, and we began playing very nicely together.

She was one of the first to know I had feelings for my future spouse. I was trying to describe his wonderful traits, character, smile, etc. … when I said in a moment of inspiration, “He reminds me very much of you!”

Here are just a few examples of how my sister and husband are similar:

  • Laundry refolding. When I was young, I hated folding laundry. I’d fling my T-shirts and turtlenecks onto a bed or some other accommodating surface, tuck the sleeves and irrelevant details underneath the folds, and move on to the next object. My sister, with a look of long-suffering, would then reach over and refold the item of clothing to make it more presentable and less creased.

Imagine my surprise when, after we were married, I had just finished folding my husband’s shirt … and he reached over and refolded it!

  • Patience with my high distractibility. I’ll be bouncing around the house some days, giddy with excitement over something, and both sister and spouse will just watch me with a look of amused befuddlement. I always tell my sister that if I ever told her a tornado was coming, she’ll just say, “OK!” like she always does. It’s very hard to get her excited over anything that puts me over the moon.

Likewise, my husband is usually very even-tempered. I’ll be recounting all the intricacies and excitements of my day and then, worn out, ask him how his day went. “Fine,” he’ll say.

  • Reluctant goings out just to please me. When I was in college, I would always drag my sister out to parties that she would dutifully attend, even though she didn’t want to go, just because I was there. Now that we’re married, my husband has been going out far more often than he’d like, because he knows how much I enjoy having him there! πŸ˜‰
  • Firstborn to my lastborn. If you are under the mistaken impression that birth order doesn’t matter, just spend a few minutes in our household! My husband and sister are very much the oldest of both their families – responsible, cautious, and authoritarian if they think the situation calls for it. I, on the other hand, am the whimsical, happy-go-lucky wild child gallivanting about life. You can imagine what fireworks result from this mix!
  • Reining me in from multiple activities. Recently my husband sat me down and asked what a normal weekend looked like for me, and I confess I was very challenged by his question. I’d been allowing distractions to come into our weekends, flying from project to project without feeling necessarily rested by Sunday evening. These commitments had also strained the amount of time we spent together, so I’m trying to do better.

The interesting thing is that my sister used to complain about the many activities and projects I juggled while in high school and college. I guess some people never learn, right?

With all these similarities, I have a nagging feeling that the person whom my sister marries will have an uncanny resemblance to yours truly! In which case, heaven help us … πŸ˜›

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Communicating/Relating techniques, Faith/Values, Ways of life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Similarities between my sister and husband

  1. Heaven help us indeed! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. Haha…this is such a cute post! I love it! Glad I stumbled over here today. πŸ˜‰ I love to tell my hubby how much he is like others in my family. It’s especially sweet in interracial couples because people point out the differences so often. This is such a refreshing story. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

