The beauty of international travel

countries with right-hand traffic countries wi...

Image via Wikipedia

I’m preparing to travel to Chile soon, so please forgive me if I neglect this blog in the next few weeks. When I return, though, I hope I’ll have lots of stories to tell!

It’s my first trip to South America, so I’m excited. For me travel always is a good thing.

Even if I experience some challenges and trials along the way, the opportunity to go somewhere different, experience another culture, taste a new dish (or dishes) and explore another worldview outweigh any potential disadvantages.

I’d recently heard this quote, commonly attributed to Augustine (but according to this source, that’s debatable): “The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.

Regardless who said it, I liked it immediately. People who travel tend to have a well-rounded perspective and many points of interest.

Just because they have done something a certain way, they realize, doesn’t mean that everybody has to do that same thing that way. People don’t always drive on the right side of the road, for instance.

If any of you have traveled internationally, I’d love to hear your stories! Also, if you have packing tips, I’m all ears. 🙂

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Overseas travel, Ways of life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The beauty of international travel

  1. Have a wonderful trip! I look forward to seeing pictures and reading stories when you return!

Leave a Reply

