Congratulations to another interracial couple!

wedding ringSo one of my husband’s college friends called to wish us Happy New Year and announce his engagement to his girlfriend.

Except it’s not a typical engagement – she’s from the U.S. and he’s from China!

It always makes my day to hear of other multicultural romances. I’ve had the opportunity to meet his girlfriend. She was very friendly, and one of the first things that struck me was her willingness to try new foods.

Always a good sign, I think, especially since openness and adaptability are two of the traits I’d most recommend for people accommodating another culture. And she said she liked Chinese food … 😛

I did not know this, but apparently a third of engagements occur between Thanksgiving and New Year, which translates into huge sales for retailers. This Washington Post story describes January as “the month-long equivalent of Black Friday in the wedding world.”

And also that the wedding industry is a $70 billion business … which unfortunately saddens but doesn’t surprise me. I’m very grateful for the number of wise counselors who told us that the wedding is over in a heartbeat, but the preparation for a marriage should be a much higher priority. Plus, it’s far more valuable and yet won’t break your budget!

My husband told me later that he wishes them all the best and that they may someday have “many fat children.” At first I thought he was joking, but he said in all seriousness that fat children would be a good thing.

“If they’re fat, it means they’re well taken care of, right?” he said. “I didn’t say obese, did I?”

My goodness.

It reminded me of a trip back to his home country when his mother approved of my hearty appetite for food. “We’ll have you fatter in no time!” she declared, beaming with pride. How can one possibly refuse such an invitation? 😉

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Ways of life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Congratulations to another interracial couple!

  1. I am always happy to hear of another interracial or intercultural marriage! I love how relationships can build bridges between cultures. I also chuckled at the “fattening up” remark…I think there are a lot of cultures that believe that fattening up their children is a sign of prosperity (at least my German grandmother who always begged me to “eat! eat!” believed such 😉 Great post!

Leave a Reply

