Nefarious: Merchant of Souls documentary film on human trafficking

Moldova-59

Photo courtesy of the Nefarious: Merchant of Souls photo gallery on Flickr

Recently I had the opportunity to watch a documentary film that I believe has changed, and will continue to change, my entire life.

It was Nefarious: Merchant of Souls, and it deals with the industry of human trafficking – modern sex slavery.

The U.N. estimates that this industry earns $32 billion a year, more revenue than the NFL, NBA, NHL and MLB combined.

A global crime against humanity

As I was watching, the statistics (as well as the faces behind them) became so overwhelming I knew I couldn’t even process them.

Did you know that:

  • Nearly 2 million children are involved in the commercial sex trade worldwide? (UNICEF)
  • 161 out of 192 countries are involved in human trafficking? (United Nations)
  • 80 percent of all trafficking victims are women and children forced into this industry? (U.S. Department of State)
  • Human trafficking is the fastest-growing criminal industry in the world? (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)

With incredible compassion for those being exploited, tortured and killed, this film recounts some of their stories and exposes this horrific injustice for what it is – the battlefront of the 21st century.

It angers me that I could have been so naive I didn’t grasp the scope of this crisis. But afterward, like so many other people who have started to fight this horror, I realized I had to do something. I could no longer plead the excuse of, “I didn’t know.”

Finding a solution

The film doesn’t just stop with covering the facts. It starts explaining ways to combat human trafficking, and for that I’m so grateful.

Its website, www.nefariousdocumentary.com, explains its mission and the organization behind the documentary: “Exodus Cry is an international anti-trafficking organization committed to abolishing modern day slavery through prayer, awareness, and reform, while assisting the victims of human trafficking and slavery through rescue, rehabilitation, and reintegration into society.”

It’s so encouraging to see people in the film who were formerly caught in human trafficking and are now set free. To see their smiles and hear their laughter after all they’ve been through is nothing short of miraculous.

It also motivates me to do something for the more than 27 million others enslaved around the world.

I wholeheartedly recommend that everyone 18 and older should see “Nefarious: Merchant of Souls.” It’s not easy viewing, but it’s essential viewing.

Note: I was not paid or compensated in any way for writing this. The documentary team who produced this had no idea that I was going to mention this film on my blog. But it’s the least I can do after seeing this.

“You may choose to look the other way, but you can never say again that you did not know.”
~William Wilberforce

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Faith/Values, Ways of life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nefarious: Merchant of Souls documentary film on human trafficking

  1. Thank you for doing your part to spread the word about human trafficking. I have seen more and more attention given to this horrifying reality on Twitter, especially through blogger Tara C. from Me and the Mexican. What are some things the film says that we can do to help?

    • Great question, Jen; the film recommends three things:

      1) Raise awareness. I really think if you are mature enough to watch this, you should. Somehow the full reality didn’t hit home for me until I saw this film. And there is hope. The film explores some progress made in Sweden after the country banned the purchase of sexual services. It’s easy to get overwhelmed when facing something of this magnitude, but I think the film does a good job of documenting the little changes that are helping make a difference.

      2) Give. Some great organizations out there are fighting human trafficking, and they really need our support. Many places lack the infrastructure to combat human trafficking on a large scale. And the criminal interests behind human trafficking are hugely funded. They won’t go away without a fight.

      3) Pray. As this was a film made by Christians, it encourages people to commit to using the spiritual weapon of prayer against human trafficking. I really treasure Martin Luther King Jr.’s quote on this: “To be a Christian without prayer is no more possible than to be alive without breathing.”

      Hope this helps! Thanks so much for asking.

  2. Jinto james says:

    Check the documentary credits section. It has a small record of actions taken by few of the members in the movement. Though simple, the impacts are profound.

Leave a Reply

