What’s the most exotic fruit you’ve ever eaten?

I’ve said before that if you’re an adventurous eater, multicultural marriage may be just right for you. Seriously.

OK, perhaps not so seriously, but especially if you’re marrying into another culture with its own food traditions, it’s something to consider. Marriage involves risks, period, but multicultural marriage can bring a whole new lot of risks!

Of course, it also brings a whole lot of rewards, too.

Recently a friend of a friend brought us some Korean melons, which I had never tasted before. Here it is in all its glory:

Korean melon

A Korean melon.

Its taste was something between a cantaloupe and an apple. You peel off the skin with a knife and then cut up the flesh into bite-sized chunks. Quite crunchy, but also quite mellow.

To me this Korean melon was something exotic, but I’m sure it’s commonplace in Korea. My husband, for example, found mangos commonplace while he lived in Africa, which I can scarcely believe.

The first time I tasted a mango came after I was 10 years old, and it immediately became my all-time favorite fruit. It’s liquid sunshine, folks. If you haven’t ever had a mango before, you don’t know what you’re missing.

Sadly, mangos were so rare and expensive that my family didn’t buy them often. We bought a lot of apples, though – precisely the fruit that my husband found rare and exotic when he was growing up! One of the first things he did upon coming to America, he told me once, was to eat so many apples that they’re now commonplace to him.

What’s the most exotic fruit you’ve ever eaten?

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Food/Cuisine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

