The day I saw a talking, motivational weigh scale

Would you want a weigh scale that actually talks to you? Apparently people in Dubai do, going so far as to stamp inspirational messages on their weigh scales.

I started giggling when my husband and I passed through this Middle Eastern country and found this inscription on a weigh scale in the hotel we were staying in:

weigh scale in Dubai

Weigh scale with an inspirational message? We found this little gem at a hotel in Dubai.

To me this is one of the beauties of traveling and interacting with different countries and cultures.

You can read all you like about them and think you have a pretty good handle of what the place will be and how it will feel, but then you actually get there and see all kinds of things that have never been written about before. Who would ever note on a travel website: “And do not be surprised to find an inspirational message on your weigh scale if you pass through Dubai…”

And what is that critter on the scale with the sagging eyelids and weird smile? Your guess is as good as mine.

We may look at all these things from a U.S. mindset and think they’re so bizarre, but then many outsiders think our ways are even stranger.

One example is sending children off to university when they’re 18, often as far away from the parental nest as possible. In many countries you’ll find several generations living in one house – the grandparents, parents and adult children until they’re married or have graduated college and are working a full-time job.

My husband likes to tell this joke of an African and European eating at a restaurant. The African orders a meat dish, and the European orders a salad.

At one point in the meal, the African is chewing on the bones left over from his meal, and the European glances in his direction with obvious disdain.

“In my country, we give the bones to our dogs,” he says.

The African looks over at the European’s unfinished salad of lettuce and tomatoes.

“In my country, we give the lettuce to our goats!” he says.

Have you ever come across something in your travels that surprised you?

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Communicating/Relating techniques, Ways of life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The day I saw a talking, motivational weigh scale

  1. jvlivs says:

    Love it. Each culture has its own idiosyncrasies, its own style and way of doing things. I worked with folks from India, and it’s amazing that just learning different things can broaden one’s mind. I appreciate this post.

    • Thanks so much! I saw on your Twitter profile that you enjoy Bollywood – me too. Which movies do you recommend? Some of my favorites are “Dil Chahta Hai” and “Veer Zaara.”

      • jvlivs says:

        Jodi Breakers was one, 3 Bachelors was another one, Teen Thay Bhai, and my top favorite, Chaar Din Ki Chandni. I credit my ex-girlfriend for getting into Bollywood. And I have coworkers from India, and that took my interests further.

Leave a Reply

