Why greeting cards will always remain popular

I was rummaging through my home files for some boring, mundane but absolutely necessary task – finances, organizational planning or some such matter – when I came across this card I had kept from goodness knows when:

Sweet birthday card from husband

Some birthday card my husband had given me a while back!

And my whole day changed!

Inside it says,

It’s still a wonder to me

that in all the world,

I found the single most

beautiful friend, lover, and woman to be my wife.

How precious you are to me …

I love you.

Happy Birthday

And then on the left-hand side, my husband had written:

Thank you for being so awesome and loving me these many years and I look forward with excitement to the future because we have God on our side and I have you with me. I love you!!! 🙂

Most of the time I am one of the least romantic and mushy people around (flowers? You can’t eat them and they die on you – why are these considered good gifts?), but I confess that moments like these remind me why greeting cards have stayed so popular for so long.

Maybe one of these days we’ll have no more paper greeting cards – we can get them on phones, laptops and tablets – but it’s still the thought, the expression, the love and effort behind them that count.

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Communicating/Relating techniques, Ways of life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

