After-baby help: Ways to cope during postpartum recovery

Check out my guest post! Thanks to Jana Johnston for sharing.

By First-time Mama Jennifer Sands at “Multicultural Marriage”

 

Looking back six weeks after our first child’s birth, I think I had a fairly good picture of what to expect before and during labor. I had a great experience – natural unmedicated childbirth, no Caesarean needed, few complications beyond a second-degree tear, departure from the hospital within 48 hours, etc.

Because of this, I expected postpartum recovery to be relatively minor. I had friends and family living nearby, including an awesome husband who was with me 24/7 for the first few days. Of course, I’d read somewhere that it generally took about four weeks to recover from a vaginal delivery, but I had thought that sounded excessive.

Well, I never was more mistaken in my life! Here’s my take on postpartum recovery and a few ways that helped me adjust to the “new normal.”

Blood, aches and tears

Postpartum recovery…

View original post 2,026 more words

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Ways of life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

