Who will have the last chocolate? … uh, word?

Box of See's CandiesWe recently received a lovely box of See’s Candies for a gift, which has caused no end of joy and eager anticipation in our household.

Right now the little one should not have any nuts <ahem> because she’s too young, not to mention that we’re trying to limit her sugar intake <cough cough>, so the responsibility of eating these falls primarily to her parents. Ah … we’d better enjoy these days while we still can! 🙂

Before we were married, my husband would polish off a gift like this in a matter of hours. But I am amazed at the change that marriage has wrought in him! This gift has lasted for weeks because we are “sharing” it – I am trying to keep to a stringent limited-sugar diet, which means I’ve limited myself to one chocolate a day.

And – sacrifice of sacrifices – because of this, so too has my husband limited himself to one chocolate a day! Just to keep me company.

Any wonder why I’m so madly in love with this guy? 😉

This brings me to one of the quirks of our marriage: the battle of the last _____ (chocolate, truffle, mouthful – you name it). Whenever something is left over that we both want, say a slice of cake or other sweet treat, we always try to make the other person be the last to eat it. It’s become a kind of game.

So I parsed down the days and the chocolates until it came to two candies left in the box. I took my candy in the morning and left the last one for him to take in the evening.

The next morning I woke up before either my husband or our baby was awake and had my breakfast. But lo and behold, the See’s Candies box was still there, in its usual spot! Why hadn’t my husband thrown it out after he had his last candy?

I opened the box and found …

Half a chocolate still there!

This was such a sweet expression of love that of course I had to honor it by popping the half-chocolate into my mouth. The result:

See's Candies box

So there you have the secret of a successful multicultural marriage, folks.

Always let the lady have the last chocolate … uh, word.

No, seriously – both parties must be willing to put the other person’s needs ahead of their own. It wouldn’t have been such a sweet sacrifice if I hadn’t been completely honest in leaving the last chocolate for him.

Which tasted … oh, soooo good.

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Communicating/Relating techniques, Faith/Values, Ways of life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

