“The only cockroach in my cupboard!”

My husband is very eloquent, and it’s not uncommon for him to give flamboyant compliments  … especially when he wants something. Hah! Just kidding.

Anyway, one night he was doing the equivalent of “verbal serenading” and started out something like this:

Cupboard with a cockroach?

Cockroach cupboard...?

“You’re the only star in my sky…

You’re the only drop in my ocean…

You’re the only sugar in my tea…

You’re the only cockroach in my cupboard! … ”

At first I thought he was teasing me, because that was hardly complimentary.

What?” I demanded. “What do you mean, a cockroach?! Eww…”

He seemed quite honestly startled by my reaction. “But that’s a good thing!” he protested. “That means you’re the only cockroach in my cupboard!”

It took a lot more explanations, and some time on my part, to figure out why this was a compliment. Apparently it was better having something, even a cockroach, in a cupboard than to have an empty cupboard.

Unlike the U.S., where even one cockroach in a cupboard means a full-blown pest extermination service, the little critters aren’t so rare in other parts of the world. Hence, having just one must mean it’s a pretty special cockroach…

Which is why it was a compliment.

So now he’s the “only cockroach in my cupboard…”

About multiculturalmarriage

I'm glad to be part of a multicultural marriage! I grew up in the U.S. but am married to an African husband. This makes life challenging, creative and cool - all at the same time!
This entry was posted in Communicating/Relating techniques, Ways of life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “The only cockroach in my cupboard!”

  1. What a cute story! I am glad to learn a new idiom 🙂

  2. David says:

    Yeah, that is a big compliment to us in Africa but often said jokingly and accepted jokingly, and I’m glad you now make a good joke out of it. Let me say its a good teaser. Good luck in your mariage

  3. Amy says:

    This clears up a lot! Thank you so much… I took a stab in the dark to have this particular “compliment” cleared up, because I have heard it too… and yes, it befuddled me too. although I had no idea what it meant, I tried to understand it was just a strange way of words meant in good faith.

Leave a comment